My first morning in service

Hi Friends and Family, this is Sandy.
Just wanted to share with you all my first morning out in service. Terry and I went with another couple, the Apts. as we were figuring out the territory we noticed a young man walking towards us with his young daughter. Brother Apt rolled down the window and asked him if he spoke English. He said he did . So brother Apt stepped out of the car and began telling him our reason for wanting to talk with him. He was so very nice and accepted the magazines. We asked if there was anyone else on the street that spoke English and he said no, only his wife. He pointed out his house and we left. We rode down the street and Erica and I got out to see if we had the right house. Yes it was ! After introducing ourselves and explaining that Erica’s husband had just spoke to her husband about the bible, she invited us in and prepared a seat for us. Erica gave her her presentation and then showed her the Bible Teach book. She said yes she would like one and she would be willing to study once a week. Because Erica and her husband John are moving to Panama at the end of June then I will have my own first study! Yay! The young woman is trying to find a job to help the family so she is presently taking English classes five days a week from two in the afternoon until eight at night. She was so kind and very thankful that we stopped by to talk with her. I’ll keep you posted on the progress.
Meg has mention about us moving to another house. Well it is wonderful. This morning we got our coffee and sat out in the rockers on the back porch overlooking the canyon. This is where we spotted so many beautiful parrots. I can hardly wait until our binoculars get here! This is truly a calm and peaceful place to be. We will be in service tomorrow ( first Saturday of the month) so I am hoping to meet many more of the friendly people of Costa Rica.
Terry is at a elders meeting tonight and they are recruiting brothers to go into the town of Grecia during the week for service. We would meet at the Spanish hall there and canvas the territory for English. There are many more English people in Grecia then where the Hall is,Sarchi. So we will see where Jehovah will direct us. More later. We miss you all and hope this little bit of chatter helps you see our adventure. We have so many pictures we are going to send so,stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “My first morning in service

  1. oh sandy…that experience is so upbuilding…..Jehovah is surely blessing all of you….and what a view…….i can’t wait to visit one day…….i love you and miss you….but i also am incredibly happy for you guys…….looking forward to more pics….love, kathy

  2. Just curious, has anyone ever run into any Creole-speaking (or French speaking) people there? I figure since there is a French cong in Mexico and Creole groups in Panama, there’s a chance Costa Rica might have a few people too! 🙂

    • Actually I’m not entirely sure. There very well may be. We aren’t on the Caribbean side of the country but I will find out when I finally get to visit over there. From what I’ve been told they speak Spanish and also an mixed English/French language that can be hard to understand (although I’m not sure its Creole). I’m excited to check it out! – Meg

  3. Hi Sandy,
    Tried to get Skype, but to now success. Will get someone to help me. Love your blogs. This is so exciting, makes all of us feel we’re just a little bit there. Megan said I need Magic Jack to call you or it will cost you. Let me know for sure. Audrey

Leave a comment